Difference between revisions of "How Users are Created"

From Seggiano Docs
Jump to: navigation, search
Line 21: Line 21:
 
Users, depending on their role, can perform certain actions within your NetSuite account. Some have full access and can perform any tasks (like administrators) where some other users can only run reports, look at saved searches, and maybe add some products to the store.  
 
Users, depending on their role, can perform certain actions within your NetSuite account. Some have full access and can perform any tasks (like administrators) where some other users can only run reports, look at saved searches, and maybe add some products to the store.  
  
−
Within NetSuite, you can customise roles to your requirements. For example, by default, NetSuite comes with a 'Sales Person' role already built in and with a set of default permission that this role has. If you want to add some permissions to this role, or remove some, go to Setup > Users/Roles > Manage Roles  
+
Within NetSuite, you can customise roles to your requirements. For example, by default, NetSuite comes with a 'Sales Person' role already built in and with a set of default permissions. If you want to add or remove permissions for this role, go to Setup > Users/Roles > Manage Roles  
  
−
From the list, find the 'Sales Person' role and click customise. '''NOTE:''' NetSuite will not allow you to edit a default role directly. It will instead create a new role for you that has the same permissions as the 'Sales Person' role, but will rename the new one you are making to something else. This means that when you are done customising this role, you will need to go back to your employee you just created and change their role to the new one you just created (refer to instructions above on how to do this)
+
From the list, find 'Sales Person' and click customise. '''NOTE:''' NetSuite will not allow you to edit a default role directly. It will instead create a new role for you that has the same permissions as the 'Sales Person' role, but will rename the new one you are making to something else. This means that when you are done customising this role, you will need to go back to your employee you just created and change their role to the new one you just created (refer to instructions above on how to do this)

Revision as of 11:02, 12 September 2016

This section of the wiki will help explain how users are created, how their permissions are determined, and how you can grant an employee certain access to your NetSuite account.

How Users Are Created

As mentioned previously, by default, anyone who makes an account on Seggiano.com, will become a customer and given access privileges to those set within the customer centre role. However, there may be times when you want to add a new sales representative, as an example. To do this, follow the steps provided below:

  • First, go to Lists > Employees > Employees > New
  • You will then be required to enter in information about the employee. Make sure to input all required fields to avoid any problems.

Before clicking save, we need to ensure that this new employee has the correct role assigned to him/her. See reference image below for further clarification.

  • On the same screen, click on the Access tab
  • From the role dropdown box, select the access you wish for this employee to have
  • Once selected, make sure to tick the 'Give Access' box. If not ticked, the employee cannot access the Seggiano NetSuite account
  • Click [Save] when finished
Fig. 1 - Access Tab of Employee

How do users work?

Users, depending on their role, can perform certain actions within your NetSuite account. Some have full access and can perform any tasks (like administrators) where some other users can only run reports, look at saved searches, and maybe add some products to the store.

Within NetSuite, you can customise roles to your requirements. For example, by default, NetSuite comes with a 'Sales Person' role already built in and with a set of default permissions. If you want to add or remove permissions for this role, go to Setup > Users/Roles > Manage Roles

From the list, find 'Sales Person' and click customise. NOTE: NetSuite will not allow you to edit a default role directly. It will instead create a new role for you that has the same permissions as the 'Sales Person' role, but will rename the new one you are making to something else. This means that when you are done customising this role, you will need to go back to your employee you just created and change their role to the new one you just created (refer to instructions above on how to do this)